county jail

Penalties for first DUI offense in Illinois

by Lewis Gainor on February 4, 2013

DUI Laws and Penalties for 2013

In the year 2014, driving under the influence remains one of the most highly politicized offenses in Illinois courts. There is no offense that will get a prosecutor fired quicker for giving a good deal than DUI. In these cases, Assistant State’s Attorneys are always wary of how it will look after they give the […]

Penalties for a first DUI in Illinois in 2012

by Lewis Gainor on January 16, 2012

Illinois DUI Laws 2012

We return in 2012 for an update on the law against driving under the influence in the state of Illinois. While crimes such as domestic battery, theft, and murder have not changed in decades, the laws on DUI are changing every year. The statute that prohibits driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs remains […]

Summary suspension and supervision: not the same

by Lewis Gainor on September 8, 2011

Difference Between Supervision and Summary Suspension

Many people are confused about the difference between a summary suspension and supervision. The two may sound alike, but they are very different. A summary suspension concerns your driver’s license. Your license to drive is suspended usually 46 days after an arrest for driving under the influence. The suspension is called a statutory summary suspension. […]

Another year comes and another set of penalties for driving under the influence in Illinois. The law in Illinois on DUI changes every year. The reasons for this include the fact that ambiguities in earlier statutes are detected or become problematic in court, and these instances are reported to state lawmakers. Another reason the law […]

Child Passenger | Illinois DUI | Enhanced Sentence | 6 Months Jail

The laws against driving under the influence in Illinois have enhanced penalties where the defendant was transporting a child passenger. The DUI statute in Illinois is 625 ILCS 5/11-501. A first offense is a Class A misdemeanor offense. The sentencing range is up to one year in jail and a possible fine of $2,500. But […]

Breath Alcohol Concentration 0.16 | Enhanced Penalties for Illinois DUI

Penalties for Illinois DUI with BAC of 0.16 or more

by Lewis Gainor on October 21, 2010

The breathalyzer test that is part of nearly all driving under the influence arrests serves as the State’s best evidence that the driver is guilty. A result of 0.08 or more is per se a violation of 625 ILCS 5/11-501. But the breath test does more. A high breath alcohol concentration can subject the defendant […]

Jail Sentence for First DUI Offense Illinois

Jail time for first offense of driving under the influence

by Lewis Gainor on September 30, 2010

A charge of driving under the influence in Illinois has serious consequences. Most DUI offenders are charged with a Class A misdemeanor offense of DUI. A Class A misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of $2,500. If the defendant is found guilty of a crime, then he is […]

Criminal penalty for first Illinois DUI offense

by Lewis Gainor on September 1, 2010

DUI Illinois | Criminal Penalties

An arrest for driving under the influence will result typically in a misdemeanor charge on the first offense. Specifically, a DUI is a Class A misdemeanor under Illinois law. It is categorized the same as other crimes like domestic battery, theft, etc. The penalty for a Class A misdemeanor is up to one year in […]