conviction

Penalties for first DUI offense in Illinois

by Lewis Gainor on February 4, 2013

DUI Laws and Penalties for 2013

In the year 2014, driving under the influence remains one of the most highly politicized offenses in Illinois courts. There is no offense that will get a prosecutor fired quicker for giving a good deal than DUI. In these cases, Assistant State’s Attorneys are always wary of how it will look after they give the […]

Drowsy driving laws: the next chapter in DUI prosecution

by Lewis Gainor on December 1, 2012

Illinois Drowsy Driving | Sleepy Driver Laws

Driving under the influence is a crime that has generally remained the same over the years. The elements are basically that the defendant was: 1) driving and 2) under the influence. While the elements of the offense remain unchanged, the penalties for DUI change every year. And they change in only one direction, they are […]

Reckless Driving | 11-501 DUI

A preferred outcome in many driving under the influence cases is reckless driving. The reason is reckless driving does not impact a person’s driving privileges in the same way as a DUI. The Secretary of State is mandated by law to revoke the driver’s license of any person who is convicted of DUI. The statute […]

Another year comes and another set of penalties for driving under the influence in Illinois. The law in Illinois on DUI changes every year. The reasons for this include the fact that ambiguities in earlier statutes are detected or become problematic in court, and these instances are reported to state lawmakers. Another reason the law […]

No Driver's License | Illinois Felony DUI

Arrest for DUI without a valid driver’s license: felony

by Lewis Gainor on January 12, 2011

Illinois law on driving under the influence changed significantly in 2008. In that year, the legislature added additional penalties for the offense of DUI. For example, an arrest for DUI where the driver does not have a valid license turned into a felony offense. For years defendants who were arrested for DUI without a valid […]

An arrest for driving under the influence has two consequences on a person’s driving privileges under Illinois law. First, his driver’s license will be suspended 46 days after the date of arrest based on either 1) a breath alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more, or 2) a refusal to take the breathalyzer test. The suspension […]

Illinois Speeding 40 MPH | 625 ILCS 5/11-601.5

A speeding ticket in Illinois can result in a fine and traffic school. In some instances, it can result in a suspended license. Recent changes in the law make certain tickets more serious. Beginning in 2011, a speeding ticket for driving 31 mph over the limit is a criminal offense. The new law makes it […]

Criminal penalty for first Illinois DUI offense

by Lewis Gainor on September 1, 2010

DUI Illinois | Criminal Penalties

An arrest for driving under the influence will result typically in a misdemeanor charge on the first offense. Specifically, a DUI is a Class A misdemeanor under Illinois law. It is categorized the same as other crimes like domestic battery, theft, etc. The penalty for a Class A misdemeanor is up to one year in […]